My official unofficial observation on how diet impacts moods

I’ve been really interested lately in learning more about how eating different foods and maintaining different diets actually impacts our moods. It’s been quite surprising to me, honestly, how little literature there seems to be available on the topic. I guess I am searching for something concrete that will tell me, “If you binge on chocolate all day and eat pizza for dinner, you are going to be moody and tired”. Though I realize the outcome of poor eating habits seems fairly straight forward, I am really seeking something concrete.

I’ll use this opportunity to ask for your help… if you’ve come across any articles or literature that explains this, please do pass it along to me!

Image

In the meantime, I will explain what I’m quickly realizing for myself. My eating habits have been nothing short of terrible for a while. I mentioned this in my “Holy Hiatus” post from last week. I’ve been eating quite a bit of sugar…. ok… a TON of sugar. WAY WAY WAY more than a person should actually consider consuming and I’ve been eating sugar like this basically since Halloween. I’ve had a week here or there where I have behaved myself, but I’ve been pretty addicted. Which, by the way, I have found to be a real thing. 

I’ve also somehow managed to allow such junk as Ramen Noodles (really??), canned soup, and Italian Hoagies to become fairly regular parts of my diet. Hey, they all taste good. Add in the miniature Hershey bars and my taste buds have been gloriously happy for months. The rest of me, though? I feel sluggish. I feel moody. I feel incredibly self conscious. To be clear, when I say I’m tired, I don’t mean “oh man, it’s Monday…. sure wish it was Friday”… I mean “I slept 8 hours last night and I still feel like I’m fighting to keep my eyes open” or “I seriously just want to lay down”. Our bodies are not meant to feel this way!

Let’s explore the self consciousness and moodiness for a moment. I’m a naturally really happy, upbeat and optimistic person. People have commented on that to me for all of my life. I love that about myself! Lately, though, I’ve been irritable and quick to take offense. I’ve let really little things impact my mood in big ways. I feel super crappy about my self-image. This isn’t me! Where did this come from? I am certain it’s coming from my diet.

It all changes here. I’ve observed this about myself. I’m processing it as I write. I’m so ready to get myself back! My energy and my good moods, my self confidence. I’m ready! 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

