Lifting Heavy… How it’s going for me!

Image

 

Woot woot! Almost through my 2nd week of Stronglifts 5×5 and I’m really loving it. I feel strong and I’m literally watching myself get stronger each day (already!). 

I was completely terrified of walking over to the weights section of the gym when I started this last week. I was intimidated, felt so out of place and couldn’t imagine how I would make it through a workout without being laughed at. I pushed through, though, and I’m so glad that I did.

Each morning after a lift sesh, I am sore in all of the right places. I deadlifted 100 lbs today…. while I realize that’s nothing for a lot of people, it’s a heck of a lot to me. To put it into perspective, I was using 9 lb weights when I was doing deadlifts 2 weeks ago. 

I’ve been doing short runs on my lifting days and then longer runs on rest days. I do enjoy running and I’m really seeing tremendous improvement in my runs- particularly with my stamina. I ran farther yesterday than I have in years!

2 weeks in and I’m already thrilled. I cannot wait to continue tracking my progress and see where I am in a few more weeks 🙂

xoxo,

M

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

