A new venture… lifting heavy!

So I’ve been working out pretty consistently for about 6 years now and I have to say, I’ve learned more this past 7 months than I have in my life. Since February, I’ve been dedicated to the Tone It Up plan and I learned what it means to have a loyal support group. My TIU sisters have been amazing and have encouraged, motivated and cheered me on through a lot. 

I love the Tone It Up workouts! They are fun, get you moving and burn a ton of calories. I have been ready for something different, though to sprinkle in among these workouts. Something to enhance this already great program. I researched my heart out… which is how I always approach things. It’s just in my nature! I checked out T25, Insanity, P90X, and Stronglifts 5×5. I finally landed on Stronglifts as my decision.

Basically, it’s a program that builds your strength by lifting heavy. Today was Day 1 for me.. I challenged myself and I couldn’t be more proud. 

My alarm went off at 4:42 this morning… that’s typical. However, I was totally worried about how self conscious I was going to feel walking over to the barbell section. Anyone who goes to Gold’s Gym knows it… some of the strongest athletes train there! There are some seriously strong men and women, even in the mornings! But, I pushed myself to do it because I know that transforming my body is more important to me than what anyone there thinks. Beyond that, I reminded myself that they all had a 1st day of weight lifting too. So over I went! 

As I had expected, there were people squatting more than my body weight and here I was picking up the 45 lb bar…. The whole workout was decently challenging, but I am admittedly a bit nervous about adding weight. Will I be able to do it? Surely I will… I put my fears aside this morning, I can certainly do it again when it’s time to increase the weight.

I can’t wait to watch my strength grow. It will be fun to look back on my first day and remember how much courage it took to start out on this venture! 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

